Union Public Service Commission (संघ लोक सेवा आयोग)

UPSC is Union Public Service Commission : Saṅgh Lōk Sēvā Āyōg), commonly abbreviated as UPSC, is India’s premier central recruiting agency. It is responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India services and group A & group B of Central services. While Department of Personnel and Training is the central personnel agency in India.

Want to know more about UPSC?

See here: UPSC Full form

The agency’s charter is granted by Part XIV of the Constitution of India, titled as Services Under the Union and the States. The commission is mandated by the Constitution for appointments to the services of the Union and All India Services. It is also required to be consulted by the Government in matters relating to the appointment, transfer, promotion and disciplinary matters. The commission reports directly to the President and can advise the Government through him. Although, such advice is not binding on the Government. Being a constitutional authority, UPSC is amongst the few institutions which function with both autonomy and freedom, along with the country’s higher judiciary and lately the Election Commission.

The commission is headquartered at Dholpur House, in New Delhi and functions through its own secretariat. Pradeep Kumar Joshi has been the Chairman of UPSC since August 2020.

Established on 1 October 1926 as Public Service Commission, it was later reconstituted as Federal Public Service Commission by the Government of India Act 1935; only to be renamed as today’s Union Public Service Commission after the independence.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) Guide

How to start UPSC preparation? Read here A Step-by-Step Guide for UPSC Preparation 2021 to Made UPSC Simple:

  1. UPSC Exam
  2. UPSC Exam Pattern
  3. UPSC Syllabus
  4. UPSC Optional Subjects
  5. UPSC Exam Eligibility
  6. UPSC Registration – Apply Online
  7. UPSC Recruitment Notifications
  8. How to Preparation for UPSC Exam?

UPSC Exam:

What is UPSC Exam? The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) examination is a national-level screening test to recruit for various civil services posts of the Government of India, such as the Indian Administrative Services (IAS), Indian Police Services (IPS), Indian Forest Services (IFS), Indian Revenue Services (IRS), etc.

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and not be more than 32 years of age as on August 1 of the year of examination. For other backward classes (OBC), the upper age limit is 35, and for Scheduled Caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates, the age limit is 37 years. The number of attempts to clear the exam is capped at four for general-category candidates, and seven for OBCs; there is no such cap for SC/ST candidates.

The UPSC Civil services exam is conducted in three phases; the notification for the exam comes in April and the Preliminary test is conducted in August. The prelim results, which qualify a candidate for the mains exam, come in September. The mains exam is held in December and its result is mostly out in February-March next year. This is followed by an interview.

The preliminary examination or CSAT (Objective Section) consists of two objective-type papers (general studies and aptitude test). The main examination is the subjective section, consisting of nine papers of conventional (essays).

Formed in 1926, the UPSC consists of a chairman and other members appointed by the president of India. The constitution does not specify the strength of the commission but leaves the matter to the discretion of the President. Hence, the composition of the commission is determined by the president. Usually, the commission consists of 9 to 12 members, including the chairman.

See here: What is UPSC Exam?

UPSC Syllabus:

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) Civil Services Exam Syllabus is divided into three categories, namely Preliminary, Mains and Interview.

The Preliminary syllabus is mainly designed to assess a candidate’s comprehension of current affairs and aptitude within the stipulated time. The preliminary paper is a compulsory and qualifying paper.

The Mains syllabus is basically designed to judge a candidate’s academic expertise in his/her specialised subject. The syllabus also focuses on testing aspirants’ ability to present knowledge in a clear and coherent manner.

The main examination has 9 papers and the syllabus is designed according to the subjects specified. The Preliminary and Mains syllabus is designed for the written test. Candidates, who emerge successful in the Preliminary and Main examination, can appear for the interview.

See here: UPSC Syllabus 2021